Customer reviews for Hotshot Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer

Hotshot Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer

Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer kills ants, roaches, fleas and other insects by contact. It’s safe for use around children and pets, and it contains lemongrass oil, a natural insecticide. This formula also kills spiders, crickets and other listed insects.
Overall Rating:
2.345 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
27
18 out of 4937%of reviewers recommend this product
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Review 21 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impossible to dispense

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
By Kingpin1966
From: 
City:Reidsville
State:North Carolina
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Yearly
Level of expertise:Expert
The container design is severely flawed. As a college educated, able-bodied adult male, if I cannot figure out and/or execute the directions for using your product, you have failed miserably at a very important product development task. I finally smashed the existing top off and replaced it with a typical aerosol nozzle. At least now I can get some product out of the can.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingSeptember 24, 2012
We apologize for your trouble. We wouldn't recommend tampering with the can to solve a spraying issue, though. We would like to talk to you about your experience using Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer and will be in contact by e-mail soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works very well, but it does stain carpet, etc

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
By TomofSanDiego
From: 
City:San Diego
State:California
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
This product worked well right out of the can. I sprayed it along the floor boards and doorways. The smell was not too bad and has pretty much gone away the next morning. But I did find that it stained my rug about an hour after I sprayed. I will try to get this off of my rug after I am sure the ant problem is gone. Any suggestions on how to do this ?
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingSeptember 24, 2012
We're glad you were happy with the performance of Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer, but we're really sorry to hear it left a spot on your rug -- did you test the rug for staining before spraying (as directed on the label)? We'd like to contact you to troubleshoot in detail -- you'll be receiving an e-mail shortly from our Consumer Services department.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It may work, but it is impossible to spray

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
By Christy
From: 
State:Pennsylvania
Like so many other reviews, it seems, I can barely get any of this spray out of the can. I'm not sure if it works or not because it is completely unusable. With a great deal of force applied to the can's cap, a small spritz might trickle in the direction of the spider, which causes the bug to run away. It seems there is a spray bottle version of this stuff, but I haven't seen it in stores. This product does have a smell, but it's lemongrass oil, so I am not surprised by that.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingSeptember 17, 2012
We're sorry you had a hard time getting the product to spray. We want to make sure you're satisfied -- you'll be hearing from us by e-mail soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Container design is flawed

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
By cszpara
From: 
State:Virginia
The lemongrass oil works fine against the occasional American cockroach that wanders in except the sprayer does not work. I had an old can with a different style sprayer than the current twist and lock and it worked fantastically. Unfortunately, the redesigned spray nozzle no longer sprays. I have to mash both hands down and I am rewarded with an anemic dribble on my fingers instead of a spray on the bug that I'm trying to kill. The product is not unusable. This is not acceptable. Please change back to the old design.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingSeptember 17, 2012
We apologize for your trouble with the sprayer on Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer. We will be in contact soon by e-mail to do what we can to rectify the situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works fine

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
By Kenny678
From: 
State:Kansas
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Since it is natural it takes a few seconds to kill the bugs, but it does get the job done. The cap is probably a little harder to press than it needs to be, but I didn't really have the trouble of the other reviewers.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingSeptember 17, 2012
Great, thanks for letting us know you were happy with the performance of Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer. Thanks for your feedback!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impossible to use and stained my carpet

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
By Erica
From: 
State:Maryland
The cap was impossible to make work. After reading other reviews I decided to break the cap so that it would work. To my surprise and delight--it started spraying. On my carpet. Now I have a yellow stain on my carpet. How do I get that off? thanks a lot. The ants are still there anyway and my house smells.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingSeptember 5, 2012
We would never recommend breaking the cap to make it work. As directed on the can, you should always test this product for staining on your particular brand of carpeting before use. We will contact you by e-mail to see if we can help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Spray valve

PostedAugust 20, 2012
By Sandra
From: 
City:Mounds
State:Oklahoma
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
First one I bought didn't spray at all. Returned it and Lowe's said a lot had been returned. I took three outside and found one that with a lot of effort I could get to spray. Took it home and it never sprayed again, just spit a few drops after placing it on counter top and mashing down with both hands. I like the idea of the natural product and the safety for our pets; but the smell and the nozzle made it unusable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingAugust 20, 2012
We apologize that you have had trouble using Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer. We'd like to learn more about your experience with this product -- you'll be hearing from us by e-mail soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for asthmatics

PostedAugust 19, 2012
By mtnluvr
From: 
City:Graham
State:Washington
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Seasonally
Level of expertise:Expert
We got this as it was an all natural item with Lemongrass in it and it was OK for indoor use. It did not kill the ants, but it also sent me into an asthma attack/VCD episode from just being in the house.... at least 15 feet away from the sprayed area. This review is the only way I have found to letting Corporate know my concerns
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingAugust 20, 2012
We apologize for your trouble with Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer. We'd like the opportunity to discuss your experience with you and will be in contact by e-mail soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great spray

PostedAugust 16, 2012
By jack
From: 
City:carolina beach
State:North Carolina
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
Level of expertise:Intermediate
kills brown widows!!! great alternative to conventional sprays had to shake a times to keep spraying keep working on the cap design and make a larger size Great spray!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingAugust 20, 2012
Thanks for letting us know that Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer worked well for you! We appreciate your feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad spray nozzle

PostedAugust 16, 2012
By bugoff2
From: 
City:san jose
State:California
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Seasonally
Level of expertise:Intermediate
why would you put a product out that is unusable? a big ripoff.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingAugust 20, 2012
We're sorry you had trouble with the sprayer on Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer. Consumer satisfaction is important to us, and we'd like the opportunity to discuss your experience with you. We will be contacting you by e-mail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

product works, nozzle doesn't

PostedAugust 2, 2012
By tatoo
From: 
State:New Mexico
I was able to spray this product only once; after that, enormous pressure produced only a small dribble. I'd like to use it; it seemed to work that one time. Very frustrating!
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingAugust 6, 2012
We apologize for your frustration. Product performance is important to us -- we'd like to discuss your experience with Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer with you. We will be in touch by e-mail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

problem

PostedJuly 27, 2012
By Pico
From: 
City:Troy
State:Alabama
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Problem with operation of spray & lock cap. Must mash down very hard to only get a small spurt out
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 31, 2012
We apologize for your trouble with the spray nozzle. We want to make sure you're satisfied -- someone from our Consumer Services department will be in contact by e-mail soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kills on contact...odor is TERRIBLE!!!

PostedJuly 27, 2012
By BJBean
From: 
State:North Carolina
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Seasonally
Level of expertise:Intermediate
I purchased 4 cans of the ant and roach killer to use primarily on the hordes of ants that have invaded my home this summer. I have never had a problem with ants until this summer. I also used it to kill spiders. It does kill on contact and I did have some difficulty getting it to spray. Seems it doesn't spray directly straight out but kind of like in a circle. You have to notice that you have to turn the nozzle to the left to unlock the nozzle. Personally, I like this safety feature, especially around small children. I have a little dog so I was especially happy about the safety of it around kids and pets. However, the smell is horrible!! It made me very nauseated and I then vomited!! I had to turn the AC off in 90 deg. weather and open all windows and turn the attic fan on and ran it for 8 hours to help get rid of the odor. Even now, I can still smell it lightly but not as bad as at first. I will NOT use this product indoors again! Should be OK used outside. BTW, purchased it at Lowe's.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 31, 2012
We're sorry you didn't like the scent of Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer. Consumer satisfaction is important to us -- it sounds like this product took care of the problem, but we'd like to further discuss your experience. We will be in contact by e-mail.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product but smells

PostedJuly 24, 2012
By Cheryl2002
From: 
City:chesapeake
State:Virginia
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
Level of expertise:Intermediate
I agree the product works great and kills the ants on contact, but the smell is over powering. I have 2 babies and a dog so I am glad its pet and kid friendly. Wish it smelled better, but I assuming all bug killer doesn't have a great smell.
In the summer time we get a lot of ants, they love our crumbs that our babies leave behind. So I often have to spray outside the door frame and windows especially after it rains.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 25, 2012
We're sorry you don't like the smell but we're glad to hear it's working against your household ants. Thanks for your feedback!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

mild deterrent to roaches, spray nozzle a hassle

PostedJuly 23, 2012
By shooter
From: 
City:Concord
State:North Carolina
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Seasonally
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Unfortunately, this product is mediocre (at best) and needs to be improved upon, Quality control (from formulation to nozzle function) needs to be addressed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 25, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We'll contact you by e-mail soon to discuss your experience with Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!! I love this product!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
By Vero
From: 
City:Douglasville
State:Georgia
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
Level of expertise:Beginner
I purchased a home that was seriously infested with ants, spiders, wasps, and other bugs inside and outside. I have tried baits, sprays, and many different products with NO avail. This one is the ONLY product that works on all of my problems inside and outside (windows,doors). The smell is strong but that's just the natural lemongrass smell so it doesn't bother me. I need a gallon jug of this stuff....where can I get a bigger bottle? I have the 24oz spray bottle now. Thank you so much for making a natural insect spray!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 25, 2012
Thanks for submitting a review of this product! We don't have plans for additional sizes yet, but we'll pass on your feedback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product doesn't spray

PostedJuly 23, 2012
By Cubby
From: 
City:Greensboro
State:North Carolina
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
We really like the effectiveness of this product.However, it is extremely difficult to produce any spray. It shouldn't take both hands in order to get the spray to work. By the time even a slight spray occurs, the ants have scattered behind another box or bottle in our pantry.
Please come up with a better spray solution.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 25, 2012
We're sorry for your trouble with this product. We'll be in contact soon by e-mail soon to discuss your experience with Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works great ... IF you can spray it.

PostedJuly 21, 2012
By Anty
From: 
State:California
I don't know how effective it is as a "deterrent" as after a bit, ants were walking around where it had been sprayed. But then again, it was near impossible to get it to spray so that may be where it was not sprayed well.
If you can get it to spray, it kills ants on contact as advertised.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 23, 2012
Thanks for letting us know that Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer is taking care of your ants. We're sorry for your trouble spraying the can, however -- we'll be in contact by e-mail to discuss with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't Get It To Spray

PostedJuly 20, 2012
By isparkle767
From: 
State:Pennsylvania
I have no idea whether or not this product works b/c I can barely get anything to come out of the nozzle. I press it and it stutters and dribbles, or a weak spray will come out, but even that takes a huge amount of force. How am I supposed to kill a bug that won' t stay still if it takes forever to get anything out of the can and I have to fight the can to get it to do anything?
Very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 23, 2012
We apologize for your trouble with the can. We will be in contact by e-mail soon to discuss your experience with Hot Shot Natural Ant & Roach Killer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Hot Shot® Natural Ant & Roach Killer
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works but smells HORRIBLE!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
By Joseph27603
From: 
State:North Carolina
This spray does work on contact but the lemon smell is so overpowering that I can't stand it. Even if you just spray a small amount the smell is so permeating and it takes forever to clear out, even in strong ventilation.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJuly 19, 2012
We're glad you got good results but we apologize that you found the smell offensive. Thanks for your feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>