Customer reviews for Hotshot Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use

Hotshot Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use

Kills on contact Long-lasting control No oily residue or film Also kills carpet beetles, clothes moths and ticks
Overall Rating:
2.909 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
5 out of 1050%of reviewers recommend this product
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer reviews for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Review 1 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost everything I hoped for!

PostedDecember 19, 2012
By Anonymous
From: 
City:Menasha
State:Wisconsin
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
Level of expertise:Intermediate
So far it's been a long difficult battle with the bedbugs, i've tried just about everything except a terminator and chem bombs. This product is the only thing I've found that works on contact aside from using alcohol/water mixture. I hold out hope that it will last for 4 weeks like it says and keep killing them, I'm impressed enough to go out and get one or two of the big bottles. The only thing it doesn't do, that I wish it did, is kill the little buggers eggs. Overall though, very happy with the spot treatment, works better than everything else right now :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJanuary 2, 2013
Also, it actually does kill bedbug eggs! Thorough treatment to contact all infested areas is key, however.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJanuary 2, 2013
Great, we're so happy to hear you're using Hot Shot Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer so effectively against bedbugs. Please keep us updated on the results you're getting with this product -- continue to be persistent in your treatments! Thanks for your feedback.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not work

PostedNovember 7, 2012
By kissybear33
From: 
State:California
Was hoping this product would work well, it does not. Sprayed the bed bugs and they still are alive.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingNovember 13, 2012
We're sorry you're having trouble with it. We're happy to help -- you will be hearing from our Consumer Services department by e-mail soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kills instantly!

PostedOctober 2, 2012
By sjcpilot
From: 
State:North Carolina
This product is amazing! I just sprayed my dogs bed that was infiltrated with fleas. I could only see one or two hopping around before I sprayed, afterwards, hundreds of little black specs dead on all over the bed. Awesome product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingOctober 5, 2012
Thanks for giving Hot Shot Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer a try! We're glad it was so effective against your fleas, and we appreciate your feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Yes, but ....

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
By Steve
From: 
City:Boston
State:Massachusetts
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Seasonally
Level of expertise:Intermediate
The Sprayer broke after 30 seconds.
Now, what shall I do with the 0.99 gallon of product left? buy another sprayer?
Secondly,
Can you confirm or not, that this product is NOT effective against the eggs, larvae and pupae of fleas. Only against adult fleas?
After some research, and reading the label, this product does not contain Nylar (Pyriproxyfen) or any IGR (Insect Growth Regulator).
Third:
Do you recommend to vacuum before/after the application or not?
Fourth:
I have now used about 12 cans of foger (twelve) (Hotshot) over 2 applications , rest time 6hours, and apparently, there are still fleas...
what shall I do? Nuke the house? Neutron Bomb?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Fifth.
The Data sheets (MSDS) and labels provided on this website are in .ashx format. Not recognized on OS X (Mac) unless manually renamed. May I respectfully suggest your webmaster to use a .pdf or any cross-platform format.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingOctober 2, 2012
We're sorry you're having trouble with the sprayer. Have you tried to use it with the hose fully extended? This is a common solution. We will contact you by e-mail to make sure the problem is resolved, however.

This product does not contain an insect growth regulator. It will kill adult and pre-adult (larval) fleas, though. Vacuuming before treatment is not necessary, but if you do, close the vacuum bag tightly and dispose of it in the outdoor trash. If you are still seeing fleas, we recommend using an aerosol product (like Hot Shot Bedbug & Flea Killer aerosol) to spot treat problem areas, like upholstery or pet resting areas. Following up with a fogger treatment weekly will take care of the problem.

Thanks for your suggestion on the MSDS file formats -- we will pass it on!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product plus a lot of work gets rid of bed bugs

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
By BedbugsAreNoFriendOfMine
From: 
State:California
The first thing I did when I discovered the bedbugs was to get rid of the entire bed. Next I bagged up all my cloths that I had around my bed. I vacuumed thoroughly. Next I spayed isopropyl alcohol along the base boards and every square inch of carpet. I slept each night on a Therm-a-Rest mattress and used myself as bait. Armed with a flash light and a spray bottle of alcohol I killed all the bed bugs that came after me.
The alcohol kill on contact, but it also evaporates quickly. So the next day I bought Hot Shot and spayed the carpet and the base boards again. I found that the spay bottle that it came with didn't work and I had to pour the contains into a generic spray bottle. Last night I slept on my Therm-a-Rest mattress and didn't get bit once. I did see just a few bedbugs and I took care of them quickly.
Each morning I bag and wash all my bedding stuff. I keep no dirty clothes in my apartment. I have been working hard to free myself of all clutter.
I think my problem is about 85% solved. I suspect that not all the eggs have hatched yet. So I'll be on the look out for the nest couple of weeks.
The bottom line is that this product works, but you also have to do a lot work to really get rid of them. The people that buy this product and then don't really do a whole lot else will be disappointed. The product doesn't kill them instantly, but it fast enough. You really don't want anything stronger in your bedroom anyway.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has built-in defects

PostedAugust 23, 2012
By Liteshine55
From: 
State:Kentucky
I bought a can of this product to use in my home for a flea infestation. As I began spraying on my carpets, the product sprayed out of the can very inconsistently. A very fine mist, followed by halts of no spray coming out of can, followed by a white foam. I returned the can to the store, thinking it was from a bad lot or a bad can. The next can behaved in the same way. I am writing the company and sending a receipt for a refund. It won't compensate for the trouble of trying the product, returning it, and trying to use a second application (not to mention sales tax) but I suppose it keeps it from being a total waste. Sincerely, Philip Ellis, Louisville, KY
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingAugust 27, 2012
Philip, we're sorry you had trouble with the aerosol product. We will be contacting you by e-mail in the next couple of days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work after contact

PostedAugust 12, 2012
By Praneeth
From: 
City:Dover
State:New Hampshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily
Level of expertise:Beginner
i applied the spray directly on the bed bug. it did not die. i test tested it for 10 mins and still moves and i have to kill it myself. i hope u take my review seriously.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingAugust 14, 2012
We're sorry you weren't happy with the performance of Hot Shot Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer. Consumer satisfaction is important to us, and we'd like to talk to you more about your experience. We will be in contact soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has been working good for 9weeks so far

PostedJune 9, 2012
By furystarkusieve
From: 
City:las vegas
State:Nevada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
We live in a "weekly" apartments and my husband works in storage so he brought them home unwillingly too. It kills them on contact. One thing about bedbugs is to be consistent so i do have to respray every 3-5 days or we get re-infested from egg sacs but its the best product we've tried so far and Ive tried a few!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingJune 11, 2012
Great -- it sounds like you've figured out how to take care of bedbugs! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of Hot Shot Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedMay 23, 2012
By VinB
From: 
State:New York
Age:45 to 54
Usage frequency:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
I have used this product as per the directions and it does not work. I would NOT recommend it to anyone for use. It was money wasted.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingMay 24, 2012
We're sorry you're not happy with the performance of Hot Shot Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer. We would like to learn more details about your use of this spray, however, and see if we can help you troubleshoot the problem. We will be in contact by e-mail soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wanted it to work so badly

PostedApril 17, 2012
By Moin
From: 
State:New York
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily
Level of expertise:Beginner
i was hoping for instant results with the spray, i used it every night and still had trouble going to bed because of waking up from the bites from the bed bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Hot ShotBy MarketingApril 20, 2012
We're sorry you're having trouble with Hot Shot Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer. Product performance is very important to us. If you have a major infestation that has not subsided after several treatments, however, you might need professional pest control. We'd like to learn more about your experience using this product. We will contact you by e-mail soon.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hot Shot® Bedbug & Flea Home Insect Killer Ready-to-Use
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bedbug Killer

PostedDecember 27, 2011
By Tomzwife
From: 
City:Gate City
State:Virginia
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
Level of expertise:Intermediate
This works better than other products I have tried and does what it says it will do. I would recommend you trying this if you should be so unfortunate as to incurr an infestation of bedbugs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
Response from Hot ShotBy Hot Shot MarketingDecember 28, 2011
Thanks for the feedback! This product is great for spot treatment to kill bedbugs and other insects on contact. We're glad it's working so well for you!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
(1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bykristina22
 
Please wait while more information about kristina22 is loaded.
Additional information about kristina22 could not be loaded.
onJanuary 10, 2012
this does not work.. my mom used this and she is still having problems.. i would not recommend this to anyone with bedbugs. none of your bedbug products work. she has bought the foggers as well and they didnt work as well..
0points
1of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
(1)